Results 1 to 29 of 29

Thread: Chiefing

  1. #1

    Default Chiefing

    So a lot of guides recommend to send 7 chiefs on a chief attempt to guarantee the chiefing attempt is successful on the first pass. My question is since most guides recommend 3 chiefs from hammer, 2 from villa B and 2 from villa C, what do you do with the other chief in Villa C after the other chief in the village is used up? Are you building 2 expansions slots and 2 chiefs in each village you want to conquer with just to get 1 village or are you utilizing that single chief for another attempt later on?

  2. #2
    Philosopher Principal Brian Lewis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Langley Falls
    Posts
    7,746

    Default

    7 is usually to many, I always send 5-6. I'm sure Table spoon will be able to answer you better though.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cjk164 View Post
    So a lot of guides recommend to send 7 chiefs on a chief attempt to guarantee the chiefing attempt is successful on the first pass. My question is since most guides recommend 3 chiefs from hammer, 2 from villa B and 2 from villa C, what do you do with the other chief in Villa C after the other chief in the village is used up? Are you building 2 expansions slots and 2 chiefs in each village you want to conquer with just to get 1 village or are you utilizing that single chief for another attempt later on?
    Always use kirilloids to figure out the exact number you can send(varies depending on population and big parties): http://travian.kirilloid.ru/conq.php. You can chief an inactive with that single chief, or if you have multiple one chief villages you can use one to chief one of your own villages to get 2 back in another village.

  4. #4
    Philosopher polaris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    1,591

    Default

    I always send 5-6. Seven is overkill as Gotmilk said.

    I use the second chief later for another chiefing, or for purposes of self-chiefing.
    S4R1 - polaris
    S6R2 - furysedge - {CD}
    S1R4 - Trogdor - 7RU
    S1R5 - Elmo
    Status: retired

    IRC: http://indicator.travian.org/11!polaris/

  5. #5

    Default

    Alright so even if it's 6 and you send 3-2-1 and land the attempt on the 5th chief what are you doing with that extra chief in villa B, just use on a different attempt and having to go at it 3-1-1-1?

  6. #6
    Philosopher polaris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    1,591

    Default

    Yes or you can self chief to open up 2 slots again.
    S4R1 - polaris
    S6R2 - furysedge - {CD}
    S1R4 - Trogdor - 7RU
    S1R5 - Elmo
    Status: retired

    IRC: http://indicator.travian.org/11!polaris/

  7. #7

    Default

    Unless you're Roman, 5 is too few. 6 is ok, if you're also throwing a big party from all villages. If not, seven is safer.
    I smash you!

    Quote Originally Posted by Baron D'Holbach View Post
    Just because I tell you something, doesn't make it true.

  8. #8
    Philosopher polaris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    1,591

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Banger View Post
    Unless you're Roman, 5 is too few. 6 is ok, if you're also throwing a big party from all villages. If not, seven is safer.
    Disclaimer - I've never played roman so I could be wrong.... but...

    According to the FAQ, Roman Senators lower 20-30% baseline. Any chiefing should be done in the presence of the large party anyway (+5%) and to be safe you assume the village being chiefed has a large party going too (-5%) then 5 should be fine under the worst circumstances. I can understand chiefing with 6 to be safe, by why would you ever need to chief with 7? The statistics say that even in the worst of cases 5 senators would be fine.
    S4R1 - polaris
    S6R2 - furysedge - {CD}
    S1R4 - Trogdor - 7RU
    S1R5 - Elmo
    Status: retired

    IRC: http://indicator.travian.org/11!polaris/

  9. #9
    Consul Wren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    So Chi you thought I was bashful
    Posts
    7,184

    Default

    That number doesn't take into account population difference, which plays a role in conquerings.
    Retired.
    s3r2: Deakon - Nemesis/WFTW (winnarz!!) ...... s6r2: Anon - CD (lulz, failtrain)...... s1r4: Trogdor - 7RU


  10. #10
    Philosopher polaris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    1,591

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wren View Post
    That number doesn't take into account population difference, which plays a role in conquerings.
    ah right. who woulda thought that the number guru would correct me in my incorrect numbers
    S4R1 - polaris
    S6R2 - furysedge - {CD}
    S1R4 - Trogdor - 7RU
    S1R5 - Elmo
    Status: retired

    IRC: http://indicator.travian.org/11!polaris/

  11. #11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by polaris View Post
    ah right. who woulda thought that the number guru would correct me in my incorrect numbers
    Yeah, Wren beat me to it (as usual )
    I smash you!

    Quote Originally Posted by Baron D'Holbach View Post
    Just because I tell you something, doesn't make it true.

  12. #12
    Philosopher MokMonster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    home
    Posts
    7,934

    Default

    I've done it with 3, and I've seen it take 7, so there's a huge swing in chiefing. Most of the time, though, it takes 5 or 6.

    Ideally, you send 2 sets of 3 chiefs, but most of us don't have that set-up. So you send 3 with your main hammer/clear, 2 from a secondary spot, and 1 from the town you want to capture it from.

    And you can always chief it from yourself if you capture it from the wrong town -- it just means you'll be building a replacement chief somewhere.
    MokMonster does not support, condone or agree with anything written in this post.
    Any suggestions to the contrary are purely unintentional.
    (Unless you agreed with it -- then I totally said it)

  13. #13

    Default

    What about reining the village you just conquered? Obviously you want to secure the village as soon as possible after the final chief lands but won't this be a dead giveaway to the person getting chiefed to know where to send his reins or do you just send fake reins to all the villages landing shortly after the other fake attempts?

  14. #14

    Default

    Fake reins work. They also work to make an opponent think you are chiefing when you really aren't. Another setup I have used is to build a raiding/anvil village (praet/ei or phalanx/tt). I use that as my final chief wave. Also remember if you are going to put reins in a village, you will need to feed them. Since merchants heeding to only one target would also be a give away, you have to fake those too.

    S6-r1 The_Chuck S8-r1 Lanie (night shift) S5-r3 Tyche (night shift) S7-r3 Chuckles (night shift)
    S2-r6 Tommo and rebuild S1-r7 Country (day shift) S5-r7(AEU) Office Space S19-r2 (SE) The Joker

  15. #15

    Default

    Great info. Thanks

  16. #16

    Default

    Will my CP be used when i conquer my own village?

  17. #17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bubilog View Post
    Will my CP be used when i conquer my own village?
    No, it won't as your number of villages remain the same.

  18. #18
    Philosopher MokMonster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    home
    Posts
    7,934

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bubilog View Post
    Will my CP be used when i conquer my own village?
    Nope.
    And you don't even need to have enough CP to expand to be able to self-conquer.
    MokMonster does not support, condone or agree with anything written in this post.
    Any suggestions to the contrary are purely unintentional.
    (Unless you agreed with it -- then I totally said it)

  19. #19

    Default

    If a wave of chiefs from Village A conquers the village and I have another chief landing in a different wave from Village B will the chief from Village B conquer the village or will there be the possibly of him dying due to Village A's wave of troops reining the village after the chiefing?

  20. #20


    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,072

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cjk164 View Post
    If a wave of chiefs from Village A conquers the village and I have another chief landing in a different wave from Village B will the chief from Village B conquer the village or will there be the possibly of him dying due to Village A's wave of troops reining the village after the chiefing?
    Both are possibilities, depending on the number of troops that were sent from each of Village A and B. If you chief with A (even though you weren't planning to), one chief from A disappears. All other troops in that attack stay as reins in the town (including any other chiefs, if you sent more than one in the attack). When village B's attack lands, a battle will occur. Deaths will happen both in your attacking and defending sides. If a chief from B is still alive, he will chief the village from A, then a chief from B will disappear and all his supporting troops will stay as reins.

  21. #21

    Default

    If I chief a village that the previous owner settled a village from will that slot open if I zero the other village or if they delete?

  22. #22
    Philosopher MokMonster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    home
    Posts
    7,934

    Default

    Um... I had to read that a few times, use some punctuation next time.

    I think you're saying:
    I chief a village with a used expansion slot. If I zero the town settled from the town I just chiefed, will that re-open the expansion slot?

    And the answer is:
    yes.

    You can also chief (or have an ally chief) the other town from a 3rd town to move the slot from your recently chiefed town to the 3rd town.
    MokMonster does not support, condone or agree with anything written in this post.
    Any suggestions to the contrary are purely unintentional.
    (Unless you agreed with it -- then I totally said it)

  23. #23

    Default

    Haha... yeah that sentence sucked. Thanks.

  24. #24

    Default

    Will the level of the structures be reduced if I chief my own village with lower pop?

  25. #25

    Default

    No. It's not a check against village pop, it is a check against account pop. So your population won't be lower than your population .

    S6-r1 The_Chuck S8-r1 Lanie (night shift) S5-r3 Tyche (night shift) S7-r3 Chuckles (night shift)
    S2-r6 Tommo and rebuild S1-r7 Country (day shift) S5-r7(AEU) Office Space S19-r2 (SE) The Joker

  26. #26

    Default

    Thanks for the advice. I successfully cleared, conquered, supplied and reined my first active village today in a 5 second window.

  27. #27

    Default

    Unless its changed, racial also makes a big difference. Roman Senators reduces the most loyalty followed by Teuton then Gaul.

    7 should be standard for Gaul's especially when you're higher pop.

    I've been in cases where even with parties, I wouldn't of chiefed if I had sent 6

    I think I've seen a pair of my chief reduce around 32 loyalty that's with a big party - the other account was obviously lower pop.

  28. #28

    Default

    Gaul chiefs aren't any weaker than Teuton chiefs, and the minimums are the same for all 3 tribes, so if you are looking at worst case scenarios they are all even. Something people tend to forget on active targets is they may be throwing a big party also.
    At max morale bonus, if only the attacker throws a party 6 chiefs is enough 100% of the time. But if the defender throws a party also, that drops to 1.4% for Teuton/Gaul, or 58% for Romans. Even 7 chiefs isn't enough for 100% guarantee in that case (though it's close).
    Of course T4 added a new wrinkle, since you can run your villages up to 125% loyalty, which can make 6 chiefs fail even with no morale bonus.

    S6-r1 The_Chuck S8-r1 Lanie (night shift) S5-r3 Tyche (night shift) S7-r3 Chuckles (night shift)
    S2-r6 Tommo and rebuild S1-r7 Country (day shift) S5-r7(AEU) Office Space S19-r2 (SE) The Joker

  29. #29

    Default

    A good tool to play with...

    http://travian.kirilloid.ru/conq.php
    Hai, I'm Jarwa

    Many achievements. 10+ year player.

    Best achievements:
    #1 attacker - s5r3 Constellation
    #3 Attacker, builder of 3 EGH's, leader, and WW winner of s3r8 - Jarwa / TL;DR

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •