Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Common issues: Please read before posting

  1. #1
    Consul Woden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Georgia, U.S.A.
    Posts
    11,683

    Exclamation Common issues: Please read before posting

    Last edited by Woden; 04-15-2008 at 02:14 AM.

  2. #2
    Consul Woden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Georgia, U.S.A.
    Posts
    11,683

    Default Section 1) Login Issues

    1) If your server is not loading at all (a blank page or error message is displayed), please take the following steps:

    ... a) Check http://status.travian.com/ to see if the server is offline. To view the individual .us servers, click on .us in the listing. If the server is listed as offline, then an issue has already been reported; you'll just have to wait for the problem to be fixed.



    ... b) If the server is listed as online but you still can't connect, then check to see if there is already a thread about it on the first page of the "Bug-Reports/Server failures" forum; if there is, please do not create a new thread about it.

    ... .. Read the existing thread(s) to see if the problem is widespread or limited to a few users; if it is a limited problem, then clear your temporary internet files (including cookies) and restart your computer, then try logging in again.


    ... .. If the problem still persists, then post about it in the existing thread (or a new thread, if no current thread exists).
    ----------
    2) If you are able to login, but are being logged out again afterwards:

    ... a) If you have a sitter or account partner, keep in mind that logging off logs everyone off of the account.



    ... b) Make sure that you have cookies enabled, and then clear your temporary internet files.
    ----------
    3) If you are having issues with your username and password:

    ... a) Verify that you are spelling them correctly, and that your Caps Lock is turned off.

    ... b) Make sure that you are at the correct site; there are many Travian domains, such as www.travian.us, www.travian.com, and www.travian.org
    Last edited by Woden; 04-29-2008 at 02:59 AM.

  3. #3
    Consul Woden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Georgia, U.S.A.
    Posts
    11,683

    Default Section 2) Attack issues

    1) If you sent soldiers to attack someone, and they did not return:

    ... a) Check the Battle Report:

    ... ... i) Are there casualties? If so, did anything survive? Also, remember that any lone unit (other than heroes and heavy cavalry) will normally die when sent on an attack; always try to keep a strength in numbers.



    ... ... ii) Are there any trapped troops? If so, were there any non-trapped survivors? If so, was the battle a raid or an attack (remember, only an attack can free trapped soldiers)?
    ----------
    2) If you lose a battle, and no defending soldiers are shown in the Battle Report:


    ... .. This is not a bug. If all of your soldiers die, then you must have caused a certain minimum percentage of casualties to the enemy army in order to see their numbers.
    ----------
    3) If you are losing troops outside of battle, or have missing reinforcements:

    ... a) Check to make sure that your village has a positive wheat production when the troops are disappearing (and the village being reinforced, in the case of reinforcements). If the wheat production is negative, then troops will start starving after the Granary's stockpile is emptied.

    ... b) [For reinforcements] Make sure that they were sent to the correct location. If you sent them by village name, there could have been another village of the same name that they were sent to; if you sent them by co-ordinates, then you might have mistyped them or made a mistake on the +/- portion.
    ----------
    4) If duplicate battle reports are showing up in your alliance's attack log:

    ... a) If someone in the alliance attacked a fellow alliance member, then this is not a bug. One copy is from the attacker, and one copy is from the defender.
    Last edited by Woden; 04-15-2008 at 12:16 AM.

  4. #4
    Consul Woden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Georgia, U.S.A.
    Posts
    11,683

    Default Section 3) Building Issues

    1) If you see that you are still allowed to click the "Upgrade" link in the Academy, Blacksmith, Armory, Marketplace, Barracks, Stables, Siege Workshop, Residence, or Palace, after having spent too many resources to upgrade it:

    ... .. This is not a bug. This is because the page only does a partial reload. Clicking the link merely takes you to Village Center, without attempting to upgrade the building.
    ----------
    2) If you see a discrepancy in the training times of queued units at the Barracks, Stable, and/or Siege Workshop after upgrading the building:

    ... .. This is not a bug. This is the way the game is intended to work. Even if the building is destroyed, the units in queue will still continue to be trained.
    ----------
    3) If you have a Plus Account, and are seeing the time estimate for resource gathering as "at the end of eternity":

    ... .. This is not a bug. This means that you do not have enough wheat, and your wheat production is not positive. You will have to raid (other players), trade (in the Marketplace), or upgrade (a wheat field).
    ----------
    4) If you cancelled a building's construction and lost resources doing so:

    ... .. This is not a bug. If you cancel a construction, then you are charged the difference in cost between the level you were upgrading to and the previous level. The exception is for level 0 --> level 1 constructions; these are fully refunded.
    Last edited by Woden; 04-06-2008 at 09:01 PM.

  5. #5
    Consul Woden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Georgia, U.S.A.
    Posts
    11,683

    Default Section 4) Resource Issues

    1) If you are having a discrepancy between your hourly wheat production and the total production of your wheat fields:

    ... a) Remember that the hourly wheat production is your fields' production minus any upkeep (population and soldiers). The symbol in the upper-right of the screen shows your total upkeep, a "/", and then your total production.

    ... b) Also remember that the Gold bonuses are not displayed on the resource fields' production, but only in the final hourly productions.
    ----------
    2) If you have had a sudden drop in wheat production:

    ... a) Check your Battle Reports to make sure that you were not catapulted.

    ... b) Check the Village Overview screen to make sure that there are no new troops in the village. If someone reinforced you with troops, they will consume your wheat until they are recalled or sent back. They can be sent back through the Rally Point.

    ... c) If you were using the Gold +25% wheat production bonus, then check if it expired.
    Last edited by Woden; 04-06-2008 at 09:01 PM.

  6. #6
    Consul Woden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Georgia, U.S.A.
    Posts
    11,683

    Default Section 5) Other Issues

    1) Naming discrepencies/errors are not bugs, they are translation errors. Please comment on them in General, rather than Bug Reports.
    ----------
    2) If you are having difficulties making a link work for your alliance forum or for your Plus Account links:

    ... a) Make sure that you are using "http://" at the start of the URL if it is an external site.



    ... b) [For Plus Account links] If you can't find the building codes, they are located at the bottom of this page.
    ----------
    3) If you suddenly lost your sales offers in the Marketplace:

    ... a) Check to see if they were accepted (if they were, you should either have a trade report, or your merchants' movement will be shown in the "Send Resources" tab of your Marketplace).


    ... b) Check to see if you have any Battle Reports. Being attacked automatically cancels any outstanding trade offers made from that village.
    ----------
    4) If there is a misplaced rank in the rankings (such as rank 500 being placed above rank 498), this is not a bug; someone just went up in rank and the rankings have not had a chance to update. It should fix itself in a few minutes.
    ----------
    5) Remember, ANYTHING that you do in the Academy is research. You DO NOT train troops at the Academy, you only unlock them for training in other buildings.

    Infantry are trained at the Barracks.
    Cavalry are trained at the Stable.
    Rams and Catapults/Trebuchets are built at the Siege Workshop.
    Settlers and Chieftains are trained at the Residence or Palace.
    Last edited by Woden; 04-29-2008 at 02:52 AM.

  7. #7
    Consul Lurk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Midwest U.S.
    Posts
    5,677

    Default How to determine which party the issue lies in

    About 90% of the time, any issues with the game are not Travian's fault; for some reason your Internet Service Provider (ISP) is having difficulty connecting to the site.

    If a server is indeed down (as in, no-one can connect to it at all) then the issue lies with Travian and a report needs to be made to the TechSupport staff by the Admin (currently Taranis). Please note that most of the time, the Tech staff is already aware of the issue before it is reported.

    Here is how you can tell the difference using any Windows Operating System (OS).

    Click Start.
    Click Run. (Located at the right side of the Start tab).
    Type "cmd" in the box.
    A black box should appear. Type: ping sX.travian.us (instead of the X, put in the server number that you want to check on).



    If your computer gets a reply from the site, then the site is indeed up and running. If your computer is unable to ping the site or if your connection is down, it will inform you of that.

    Sometimes Travian is running fine and you are unable to connect to the site anyway. Issues with that include your internet connection. Possible issues include:

    A) Client side router configuration disallowing it.
    B) DNS Records for Client have yet to propogate.
    C) Client hosts file has been tampered with and is disallowing it.
    D) Client side browser disallowing it.
    E) Dropped DNS bounce point between client and host.
    Qui tacet consentire videtur, ubi loqui debuit ac potuit.

    [7:32 AM] Jason (Al Bundy raidslave): Who the **** loses an arti to 18 phalanx
    [7:32 AM] Old Timer US1: The same faction that loses one to 66 legos

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •