Thread: Residence to 10, Settle, demolish to Palace

Default Residence to 10, Settle, demolish to Palace

Since building a Palace to L10 is way too expensive and time consuming, which will hamper my growth, I have decided to try (this is my first time trying this strategy) to level my residence, instead of palace, to 10, in my capital. After settling my 3rd village, I will demolish my L10 residence in my cap, and build a palace and declare it a capital.

Is there anything wrong with this choice? This is my first time trying this. Will I lose expansion slot etc? If I do lose one, is it such a big deal?

The expansion slots remain "used", regardless of tearing down residence/palace and rebuilding one or the other.

One method people use is to simply build a level 1 embassy + level 1 palace in the cropper (soon-to-be capital), set capital status, then demo the palace and build up a level 10 residence there for expansion. This method allows you to set capital status there, while also avoiding the higher construction costs of a level 10 palace.

Expansion slots can always be rearranged further down the road, via self-chiefing. Just think forward and plan those out accordingly.... keeping in mind that any self-chiefing will not only wipe out troops trained FROM the chiefed village, but also any academy research + smithy upgrades (wall upgrades, also). Many people perform such rearrangements, in order to get make all three expansion slots "open" in their hammer village, allowing them to have 3 senators/chiefs attack with their hammer.
    us1rd4 Gressor2 / Narwhal
    us1rd5 Elmo / RetrofitMID
    us1rd6 JL Picard
    us1rd7 Putin
    us5-AE Happy Gilmore

Quote Originally Posted by bugzy View Post
    It's huggling when they do it, it's strategy when I do it.

I would definitely go with Gressor's idea purely because the level 10 residence gives you nice static CP rather than doing it the other way around.

I've done it both ways and they each have benefits.